About Technical Services

The Technical Services Group acquires, organizes, describes, delivers, and preserves library content in the support of the University Libraries’ mission. Making library collections discoverable through tools such as One Search, the library catalog, Find It!, and Google Scholar are examples of work performed and technologies managed by Technical Services. The group is also responsible for supporting the technical services-related modules of the Integrated Library System (ILS) including acquisitions, cataloging, serials, electronic resources, WAM (proxy server), Pathfinder Pro and Millennium Administration. Technical Services is an internal group working with other library departments and the Public Services group to meet user needs. Libraries supported by Technical Services include the Williams and Science Libraries. Technical Services is composed of several departments including Cataloging, Continuing Resources, Government Documents and Ordering as well as:

Automation – Managing the Integrated Library System (ILS) is performed on a part-time basis by two employees as needed. The library catalog public interface is supported by this group along with the modules for acquisitions, cataloging, serials, electronic resource management, WAM (proxy server), Pathfinder Pro and Millennium Administration.

Picture of Technical Services Staff
Front row, from the left to right: Christina Torbert, Michelle Emanuel, Gail Herrera, Laura Harper. Back row, from the left to right: Rachel Peck, John Leslie, Tina Harry, Elizabeth Dorris, Kristin Rogers, Melissa Williams, Alana Pruitt, Martha Cullison, Daisy Cheng. Not pictured, Jennifer Brosek, Lavorace Frierson, Celest Parker.

Technical Services Head

Administration
Gail Herrera

Gail Herrera

Assistant Dean for Technical Services and Professor gherrera@olemiss.edu

662-915-5674
Cataloging
Michelle Emanuel

Michelle Emanuel

Head of Cataloging and Metadata Services and Professor memanuel@olemiss.edu

662-915-1360
Picture of Daisy Cheng

Daisy Cheng

Senior Catalog Librarian and Associate Professor dtcheng@olemiss.edu

662-915-7953

Tina Harry

Catalog & Assistant Automation Librarian and Associate Professor tharry@olemiss.edu

662-915-5459

John Leslie

Music Catalog Librarian and Associate Professor jleslie@olemiss.edu

662-915-7953
Picture of Beth Dorris

Elizabeth Dorris

Library Specialist eadorris@olemiss.edu

662-915-5862
Picture of Celest Parker

Celest Parker

Library Specialist cparker@olemiss.edu

662-915-5862
Continuing Resources
Picture of Christina Torbert

Christina Torbert

Head of Continuing Resources and Associate Professor ctorbert@olemiss.edu

662-915-7059

Kristin Rogers

Electronic Resources Librarian & Assistant Professor kerogers@olemiss.edu

662-915-3409

Lavorace Frierson

Senior Library Assistant lfrierso@olemiss.edu

662-915-5862
Picture of Alana Pruitt

Alana Pruitt

Library Specialist apruitt@olemiss.edu

662-915-5862
Picture of Melissa Williams

Melissa Williams

Library Specialist mmwill@olemiss.edu

662-915-5862
Technical Services Staff

Travis Cowart

Collection Applications Developer tlcowart@olemiss.edu

662-915-5459
Picture of Martha Cullison

Martha Cullison

Library Specialist mculliso@olemiss.edu

662-915-5862

Ole Miss logo
The University of Mississippi
P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677 USA
(662) 915-7211